Hephaestus's Blog


RIP Terry Pratchett
March 12, 2015, 17:13
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was very saddened to hear that Sir Terry Pratchett, author of over seventy (!) novels, died today. I have read seven and a half of his books, (not quite 10%) and enjoy his witty and concise style of prose. (That may be because it reminds me of how I think… or else has influenced me subconsciously.) According to the Telegraph, he died of a chest infection, with his family and cat beside him.

The first of his books I ever read was Good Omens, a collaboration with Neil Gaiman about the Apocalypse. The first of his solo works, and the first Discworld novel, I read was Men at Arms, the fifteenth in the series, about guns.
Most (four books) of the Pratchett novels I have “read” have been in the form of audiobooks, which, of course, gives convenience at the cost of the loss of much of the more subtle wordplay. This includes the first three Tiffany Aching novels, as well as Amazing Maurice.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

